Information Commons: Accounting : Reference Sources

What is a Reference Source?

Reference Sources provide quick answers to research questions. They are not meant to be read in full but are referred to on an as-needed basis. Examples of physical reference sources are dictionaries and encyclopedias. There are many free reference sources available online. One popular source is Wikipedia. Contrary to popular belief, Wikipedia is an edited source, usually with quite reliable information. However, Wikipedia's greatest assets are the References and Further Reading sections at the bottom of each article. These sections provide a great opportunity to find more research sources. In addition, the below reference sources are of particular use for accounting research:

Accounting Calculator
This list provides links to a number of accounting calculators, including calculators for ROI, VAT, etc.
Accounting Terminology Guide
This guide, from the NYS Society of CPAs, provides definitions for over 1,000 Accounting and Finance Terms.
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Reference tab includes: a variety of world, regional, country, ocean, and time zone maps; Flags of the World; and a Country Comparison function that ranks the country information and data in more than 75 Factbook fields.
Credo Research Quick Tips (Research Videos)
Learn and develop lifelong skills to find, evaluate and use information effectively.
Empower your research process with these videos.
Dictionary of Accounting
"Over 200 new terms have been added to this second edition, bringing the total to over 1,300 definitions. Many of the original entries have been revised, and comprehensive coverage is provided for financial accounting, management accounting, taxation, auditing, social accounting, information systems, computers, financial analysis, reporting standards, and statistical methods." The eBook is accessible via St. Augustine College library catalog.
IRS Tax Statistics
This page of the IRS website provides links to statistics for businesses, individuals, and charities, etc.