Information Commons: History: Databases

Why Databases?

Please Note: When conducting academic research, it is important to use databases such as those listed below when looking for online resources. There is a vast amount of information available on the internet, and not all of it is true. Unlike when using generic search engines such as Google, using an academic database will help ensure that the sources you are using are peer-reviewed for accuracy.

Regardless of where you find your material, you should still take the time to evaluate each resource you use for:

-Relevancy (does this relate to your topic?)

-Accuracy (does this author cite their sources and support their findings with evidence? is this material peer-reviewed?)

-Timeliness (is this article recently published or outdated?)

-Point of View (who am I hearing from? whose voice is missing?)

-Bias (does the author have a specific point of view or ulterior motive that might influence the information provided?)

Databases

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco)
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive database on EbscoHOST through which you can search thousands of full-text, peer reviewed articles across multiple disciplines. Search results can be large in number, so search filters will help find the information you need more quickly.
more...less...
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Biblioteca Digital Real Academia de la Historia
La Real Academia de la Historia, fundada en 1738, posee una espléndida Biblioteca-Archivo con códices, incunables, manuscritos e impresos de inestimable valor científico, bibliográfico y documental que abarcan desde la alta Edad Media hasta nuestros días, indispensables para el estudio e investigación de la historia de España y de la América hispánica.

Biography Reference Source This link opens in a new window
More than 390,000 biographies of historical and contemporary people.

CARLI Digital Collections
CARLI Digital Collections was established in 2006 as a repository for digital content created by member libraries of the Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI) or purchased by the consortium for use by its members. CARLI Digital Collections uses the CONTENTdm digital asset management tool to describe and deliver digital representations of myriad special collections including printed and manuscript materials, images, and sound recordings. It also guarantees researchers access to cross-institution and cross-collection searches integrating previously disparate and possibly remote special collections.
Edward E. Ayer Digital Collection (Newberry Library)
As a collection of general Americana, the Newberry’s Edward E. Ayer Collection is one of the best in the country and one of the strongest collections on American Indians in the world. Featured here is a selection of more than 65,000 digitized images and texts from the Ayer materials. This digital collection will grow as we continue to make these primary source documents freely available online.
GPO (U.S. Government Printing Office)
Publications of all U.S. government agencies, many available in full text.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a growing, global partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. The mission of HathiTrust is to contribute to research, scholarship, and the common good by collaboratively collecting, organizing, preserving, communicating, and sharing the record of human knowledge. There are more than 140 members in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide.
HeinOnline
HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 178 million pages and 270,000 titles of historical and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges an important research gap by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,700 law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of academic journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.

History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Covering topics in U.S. and world history from the earliest civilizations through the 21st century, this database includes full-text journals, magazines, reference books and primary source documents.

The Internet Archive
The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public. Our mission is to provide Universal Access to All Knowledge.

EbscoHOST Video Guide

This video guide shows general information on how to do an advanced search and can be easily applied to all EBSCOhost databases, including Academic Search Complete and HeinOnline. Check out the APA Youtube page for more helpful video guides!