Research 101
Welcome to Research 101 -- your online crash course in conducting scholarly research and finding sources or information for papers, projects, and life! Here you'll find advice about developing a search strategy as well as tips and tricks for how to best search for information on databases.
Use Boolean Operators for a more precise search!
OR = increase your results. Combine synonyms or similar terms to increase the number of results.
Example: groups OR organizations OR
associations RETRIEVES articles that contain any of those 3 words
AND = narrow your results. Combine different concepts to narrow your search.
Example: students AND kindergarten RETRIEVES articles that contain both of those words.
NOT = narrow your results. Combine different concepts to reduce your search by excluding some words.
Example: students NOT kindergarten RETRIEVES articles about all students except kindergarten students.
Use limits to narrow
Most databases will allow you to apply limits to your searches and results, such as publication date, source type, scholarly, etc.
Search multiple databases
Try your search in more than one database. EBSCO will let you search multiple databases simultaneously. Look for "choose databases" above the search box. In ProQuest, use the "change databases" link in the banner to select multiple databases to search.
Use subject headings for a more precise search
Most journal article databases use controlled vocabulary to make searching for journal articles more specific. Knowing the best subject heading will improve your specific search. Use a database's THESAURUS (controlled vocabulary) to choose the best words for your SUBJECT search.
Is the source right for your assignment?
Not every article you find is going to be right for this specific paper. Use the following criteria to determine whether this article is appropriate for your research needs:
|
Currency How recent is your article? |
Think about: When was the information published or posted? Has the information been revised or updated? Is the information current or out-of-date for your topic? |
|
Authority What is the source of the information? |
Think about: Who is the author/publisher/source/sponsor? What are the author’s qualifications to write on the topic? Are they affiliated with any organizations or groups? |
|
Accuracy How reliable or truthful is the content? |
Think about: Where does the information come from? Is the information supported by evidence? Has the information been reviewed? Can you verify any of the information in another source? Is there a bibliography? |
|
Purpose Why does the information exist? |
Think about: What is the purpose of this information? (To inform or persuade?) Do the authors/sponsors make their intentions or purpose clear? Is the information fact or interpretation of facts? Opinion? Propaganda? Are there political, ideological, cultural, religious, institutional or personal biases? |
|
Relevance How well does the information fit your needs? |
Think about: Does the information closely relate to your topic or answer a question you have? Who is the intended audience? (Experts? General public?) Is the information at an appropriate level? (Not too narrow, not too general?) What will this source add to your research project? |
|
Scholarly Is this article scholarly or not? |
Think about: What is the source of publication? Is the author affiliated with a university or research institute? Does the article report original research? Is it peer-reviewed? |
Reference Sources
Conduct background reading to better understand your topic and important facts surrounding the topic such as dates, people, important terms and concepts, etc. Try using reference sources like our "Reference eBooks" (link) or some of the free resources listed below:
Contact the Librarian
[ TEXT or CALL: 773-878-3710 ] | [ EMAIL: library@staugustine.lewisu.edu ]