What is an academic database?
An academic database is an online platform that provides access to resources like scholarly journals, articles, books, and reports. The platforms generally have a search box to type key terms/ phrases into and includes limiters to further narrow your search (e.g., by subject, subtopic, publication date, author, title, etc.). These databases are accessible to students through their college/university's required student credentials.
Virtual Library Databases
The Library provides access to a variety of databases that contain collections of articles that published in trustworthy academic journals. Some databases cover many subject areas and other databases are targeted for a specific subject--psychology, business, education, etc.--and provide more in-depth coverage.
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. ASC is a great database for getting started with your research!
Si desea buscar en una sola base de datos, haga clic en el nombre que aparece abajo. Para buscar en más de una base de datos a la vez, marque las casillas correspondientes y haga clic en Continuar.
Google's scholarly search engine. Some articles will be available full access, others will only be citations. For best results, use Boolean search indicators -- see "Research 101" page for more information.
The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, it provides free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public.
Full text articles for over 2,000 general periodicals, plus reference sources and multimedia covering a broad range of disciplines.
A full-text database of essential publications for research across many disciplines, including art, education, humanities and technology. Includes more than 2,700 full-text journals and magazines.
Select "Databases" to view all 14 available databases and search across up to three at a time! Includes articles, eBooks, open access resources, and more!
Comprehensive database for consumer-oriented health content. Includes full-text journals, magazines, health reference e-books, evidence-based health reports, and consumer health pamphlets and leaflets from the CDC, FDA, NIH and others.
This rich collection of consumer health information provides access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books. It also includes searchable full text for current health pamphlets.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses and medical educators with access to full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. It brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
MedlinePlus es el sitio web de los Institutos Nacionales de la Salud para pacientes, familiares y amigos. Le brinda información sobre enfermedades, afecciones y problemas de bienestar en un lenguaje que puede entender. MedlinePlus ofrece información de salud confiable y actualizada, en cualquier momento, en cualquier lugar, de forma gratuita.
PubMed® comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Full-text articles covering education from early childhood through higher education.
U.S. Department of Education sponsored comprehensive database of education literature, from early childhood to college.
Freely accessible version of the index of journals and documents in education. Includes abstracts, lesson plans and full-text when available.
Full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles and over 200 educational reports.
Psychology and Social Work Databases
Full-text articles on current issues in psychology from respected sources, from 1894 to the present.
An international repository for psychological tests and measures, including descriptive summaries, citations, and full text when available.
Full text and indexing for journals, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines.
Broad collection of business journals and company profiles with MarketLine Reports.
Full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.
Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 600 U.S. and international newspapers. Also contains selective full text for over 400 regional U.S. newspapers. Full text television and radio news transcripts are also provided.
Index of scholarly and popular articles, government documents and reports on the ways humans affect the environment.
Provides full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
[ TEXT or CALL: 773-878-3710 ] | [ EMAIL: library@staugustine.lewisu.edu ]
